debsthoughtstoday

yesterday, today, etc.

Posted on: September 11, 2012

Still in pain and wanting to lay around and cry. 

Yesterday I wrote a long thoughtful blog and left it unpublished like an idiot, AGAIN!

Yannis is home. Maria went to see him after she got off work. She worked for a general surgeon here and that Doc has said he will take good care of her sweetheart. Thank God!

Yesterday the store was busy, today it is slow and boring but good for letting me read emails.

I made tomato sauce and spaghetti for lunch. The sauce was VERY simple. I simmered my homemade tomato sauce with some basil, oregano (from Galatea’s garden, dried from last year), salt, pepper and a dab or olive oil.

I am almost finished with the second book in the “A Song of Ice and Fire” series by George R. R. Martin. The only problem is that I don’t like putting them down. http://georgerrmartin.com/

Michael-John at the ripe old age of 12 insists on riding the public bus to school. Taki was freaking out. I wanted him to go ahead and do it but I was scared on the inside. He did ride the bus with a friend and it went fine. I am so proud of him. He is in Jr. High School this year. (7th, 8th and 9th grade here)

Baby George walked by himself. All last year he insisted on riding with Taki which usually caused Taki to be late.  lol  😛 So this year Taki will only have Maria. She is working at hotel across the street from our shop. 🙂 

I am using this bit of info from the “Good Old Days Newsletter”. (GoodOldDays@anniesnewsletters.com via crow.qtropnews.com) 

Did you realize that this year is the 130th anniversary of the first Labor Day celebration?

Although there is some dispute among historians as to who organized the first Labor Day, its celebration was marked on Tuesday, Sept. 5, 1882, sponsored by the Central Labor Union in New York City. The union held its second Labor Day holiday one year later on Wednesday, Sept. 5. It was in 1884 that the first Monday in September was selected for the holiday.

In 1887, Oregon became the first state to recognize Labor Day as a legal holiday. Other states jumped on the bandwagon, and in June 1894 Congress passed federal legislation designating an official Labor Day holiday.

If you would like more information on the history of the holiday, see the U.S. Department of Labor’s website by clicking here.

I am on my 6th Panadol Extra for today and I am still hurting and I need a break. I am working alone today from 15:30 until Midnight. uuuggghhh, no breaks for me…poor little ole me…NOT! I am just grateful to have a job and a home, healthy kids, husband and myself. 😀 

WOW! George (our store manager) just came in. He is doing the newspapers for the returns tomorrow morning. I got lucky. He won’t be here long. I got the break I needed, YEAH!

I am thinking of ordering food from the taverna next door. I would definitely make an order if I didn’t have to eat in front of my customers. lol

If there is anyone wondering what I am missing besides family, it’s pecans, fruit pecton, Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, Halloweeen Candy such as candy corn or the little pumkins. lol I wish my kids could experience Trick or Treating. I thought to mention this because a lady from NY is here with her husband. I have helped them with simple things. She wants to send me a care package when she gets back home. I am so excited. 😀

 

OK! That is enough blah blah blah for one night or day…bye with love from Deb

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

