debsthoughtstoday

another day, another dollar or not…

Posted on: September 3, 2012

My DH (darling hubby) has informed me that as the season is coming to an end we are in debt. So it appears that the two of us working has not helped. He worked last year but I didn’t. The Lord will provide. I just have to ask (pray), believe and I will recieve. I just prefer not to have to rely completely on him to get us through the Winter, is that selfish?

Maria just stopped by, gave me a kiss and a hug, she left immediately after taking coins for the buses she needs to get her home. That is better than not seeing her at all. 🙂

Just talked to Galatea on the phone. We have made plans for a burger/movie night at her studio for Wednesday night. (www.galateaspottry.wordpress.com)

This is from http://www.countrymommacooks.com. I plan on making it for lunch tomorrow. I just have to remember to put the beans on to soak to night. I don’t have the beans in a can here. This time of the year I sure wish I did.

Cannellini Beans and Pasta Dish

Cannellini Beans and Pasta

Ingredients

  • 12 oz package No Yolks noodles(wide)
  • 15 oz can cannellini beans(rinsed and drained)
  • 4 slices bacon
  • 2 Tbsp. Olive oil
  • 1 cup celery(chopped)
  • 1 cup onion(chopped)
  • 2 cups chicken broth
  • 2 Tbsp. tomato paste
  • 1/4 tsp. crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 tsp. garlic salt
  • 1/4 tsp. black pepper
  • 2 Tbsp. flour
  • 1 Tbsp. brown sugar

Cooking Directions

  1. Bring a pot of salted water to a boil and cook the noodles meanwhile….
  2. In a dutch oven or heavy pan cook bacon until crispy. Remove from pan and set aside.
  3. Remove all but 1 Tbsp. of the bacon grease and add olive oil. Cook the onions and celery until translucent.
  4. Add the flour and seasonings and cook for 1 minute.
  5. De glaze the pan with the chicken broth and continue adding the broth and stirring to make a thin rue.
  6. Now add the tomato paste, sugar and the beans. Then add the noodles(cooked al dente) adding pasta water if needed. At this point you can add cheese if you like, Romano or Parmesan.
  7. Serve with bacon crumbles on top.

 

Check this out. She used one of my all time favorite recipes. That I learned from my Mother-In-Law. I feel so good about it. 😀

http://www.lovebakesgoodcakes.com/2012/08/debras-greek-baked-beans.html

So I will end here for today. School will be starting on 9/11 this year. I don’t like it but I also like it when it falls on this date. For us it is 11/9/12. I like it because there is a blessing read over the children as they start their new school year. I don’t like it because it is the day that “they” tried to bring America to her knees. I send up prayers and give thanks to all the American military and their loved ones.

Have a great Aumtumn with love, Deb 🙂

Leave a Reply

