debsthoughtstoday

boring 21-22/05/12

Posted on: May 22, 2012

I wrote a few postcards and mailed a total of 24. Only three of those were mine. We take postcards with or without stamps and mail them for tourists. My favorite postcards are the ones with recipes on them.

I made lunch that turned out yummy. I uncased a sausage. Sauted the meat with look like large ground bits of beef. I added one medium chopped onion, about a tablespoon of olive oil, sauted that until the onion was soft. I added three cloves of crushed garlic. I let the garlic get soft. I added one can of chopped tomatoes. Then I added about 500ml. of my homemade Santorini tomatoe sauce. I let that simmer unitl it started to thicken. The original recipe called for fresh basil, chopped finely. I didn’t have any so I added some oregano (dried from my friend garden). While all that was going on I was boiling some Kofto macaroni (looks like broken elbow macaroni). The original recipe called for Penne ( I didn’t have any.) At the very end I added about 1 and 1/2 cups of cream into the sauce. Then I poured the sauce over the almost ala dente pasta. Stirred and served with freshly grated Parmesan. That was some seriously good eating! The side dish was tomatoes, cucumbers, onions and a hunk of Feta. Also we are lucky to have fresh baked bread every day.

 

This radio station is playing in the background today.

http://www.cbn.com/radio/country/

I listen to different things at different times and days. Most of the time Taki has it on a Greek station. It  throws the tourists off when they walk into the shop and hear Country. lol

 

Maria went to one of chilhood friends’ Mom’s second wedding. They babtized the half sister (7 months old) after the wedding. Maria had a blast. She could barely get up the next morning for work.

 

George has his first final tomorrow. He is cramming today.

 

Michael-John worked yesterday at the store and made 5 Euro’s. He will work again today. He won’t work on Wednesday or Friday. He has English lessons. He is saving to buy a used bike. The bike is valued at 200 Euro’s but he will get it for 60 Euro’s. He is VERY excited.

 

Taki doesn’t have a positive attitude but I do. The hours I work are steady. We won’t be rich but it is a good thing. I have Faith and that helps my attitude.

 

I hope you all have Faith. Trust in the Lord and Pray and Believe.

 

With more love than I can say…I think or you all often.

1 Response to "boring 21-22/05/12"

We love you and can relate as Ryan opened a shop in February and we are both working there…You have to chin up and stay strong and pray everyday! Hugs!!!!

Leave a Reply

